City Hounds

Just sniffin' around…

Fresh Start

Red and Ruby on a walk in the park.

I’m working hard toward a fresh start, and I’m hoping I can hold myself accountable for making the changes I need by writing it all down.  I’ve been doing it in an old fashioned journal, but I can’t add pictures there.  Also, I’ve always wanted to keep a blog.  I’ve started several, for several different reasons, and never stuck with it.

My dogs are a huge part of my “reboot,” and that’s where the name of the blog comes from.  We live in a very small Midwest city, in our own house and small yard, with two energetic coonhounds.  They need exercise, and they need to get out a do things, and so do I.  When I don’t do these things, we all suffer.  This became really evident this past summer when I was very stressed out, tired, and feeling terrible – depressed, suffering from migraines andn stomach problems, and overall just really unhappy.  Our dog Ruby seemed to becomea reflection of my problems, and she expressed her unhappiness by attacking our other dog, Red.  In the interest of keeping both dogs, I realized I had to do better at providing her with what she needs.

At the same time, I began a program for emerging leaders at work (work is successful, even if my personal life isn’t!).  In a seminar on emotional intelligence, I realized just why work is sucessful and home isn’t: I practice all my emotional intelligence skills at work and none at home.  I don’t have a life outside of work.  I don’t mean that I work all the time, but that I don’t really DO anything when I’m not at work.  And when the presenter asked us to rank series of emotionally intelligent traits, happiness fell very close to the bottom. Alarmingly so.

Life’s to short to be miserable, for me and our dogs.  So, it’s time to get out, get moving and get a life!

Ruby, my inspiration

November 1, 2011 - Posted by | Reflections

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

