City Hounds

Just sniffin' around…

Happy Halloween!

Clown? Or Pimp? We'll go with clown.

I’ve thought about dressing up the dogs before, for Halloween or just for fun, but I didn’t want to be perceived as the sad-woman-with-no-kids-who-dresses-her-dogs-instead.  But, I think as I come to terms with the fact that Steve and I probably won’t have children, and begin to live a grand life without kids, I’ll worry less about that.  This year, I decided the heck with what other people might think; I’m just going to have fun with it.

So I planned ahead, got costumes, and made homemade dog treats to deliver the the pooches on our block.  We tried the costumes on the dogs last week, but didn’t do as much conditioning as we should have.  Red was okay, but his hat kept falling off – I’ll need to adjust that if we’re going to use the same costume next year!  Ruby didn’t do as well.  Her discomfort brought out her agression. I’m not sure if she wasn’t happy with her costume or didn’t like Red’s.   Maybe she didn’t want to be a witch?

Ruby the B/Witch

In any case, Red and I made our deliveries without her.  Things I learned:

1. Get the dog more used the costume in advance and make sure it fits.

2. Don’t drop a treat bag,or Red will eat it, bag and all. (Thankfully, I got the paper bags…)

3. Go later.  Some neighbors weren’t home yet.

4. Stay away from the door if the resident answers with the dog.  Red made one friend this way (Wigwag the bulldog), but got bit in the butt by a bunch of little yappers at another place. 🙂  That’s the  thanks he got for delivering them treats!

Seriously, though, I think I was guilty of being a little to excited/nervous about the outing.  Two of our neighbors were getting ready to leave to walk their dogs, so I rushed out the door to catch them before they left, giving Red little time to settle down and relax before doing something new.  Next time, in addtion to getting the dogs accustomed to their costumes in advance, I’ll take things slow before we leave and give them plenty of time to settle down.

November 2, 2011 - Posted by | Adventures

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

